What's On

Sunday 13 March 2016, 3pm

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra

Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko

There has been a change to the advertised programme. Only one Grieg Lyric Suite excerpt will be performed.

One of the world’s greatest orchestras performs Saffron Hall’s first Mahler symphony - the achingly beautiful No.5. Vasily Petrenko, music director of the Oslo Philharmonic since 2013, conducts Mahler's epic and tormented masterpeice which, in its famous ‘Adagietto’, contains an intense musical love-letter to the composer's wife. With the highly sought-after soloist Simon Trpčeski, they also offer Rachmaninov’s enduringly popular second piano concerto, the work which established the composer’s international fame as a composer.

Tickets £16-£40

This concert will finish at approximately 5.10pm