What's On

Sunday 31 July 2022, 4pm

Aurora Orchestra: Beethoven 5 from memory

Aurora Orchestra: Beethoven 5 from memory


Aurora Orchestra
Nicholas Collon
Patricia Kopatchinskaja
Tom Service


Iannis Xenakis
Dmitri Shostakovich
Violin Concerto No.1
Introduction to Beethoven 5
presented by Nicholas Collon and Tom Service
Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No.5

Running Time

2 hours 15 minutes

Instrumentalists play on a dark blue stage standing freely, without chairs or music stands

The Aurora Orchestra and conductor Nicholas Collon are regulars at Saffron Hall and never fail to thrill with their engaging playfulness and immediacy – characteristics shared by Patricia Kopatchinskaja, who performs Shostakovich's Violin Concerto No.1.

With its famously dramatic opening, Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony is made all the more exciting in a performance given entirely from memory, the absence of music stands and scores creating an electrifying intimacy between orchestra and audience.

For this concert, which forms part of Cambridge Summer Music Festival, BBC Radio 3’s Tom Service joins Nicholas Collon to introduce the symphony, harnessing the unique potential of an orchestra playing by heart to get beneath the skin of Beethoven’s music in new and illuminating ways.

Age Guidance

This event is not recommended for children under 7 years old