What's On

Friday 9 December 2022, 8pm

  • Multiple locations
  • Good availability

Pekka Kuusisto with Manchester Collective

Pekka Kuusisto with Manchester Collective

Presented by Saffron Hall

Photo of Pekka Kuusisto playing from an unusual downward angle with overlaid text reading 'Manchester Collective' that looks like a neon sign.

We are sorry to inform you that that due to illness, Pekka Kuusisto is withdrawing from his engagements until the end of 2022. As a result, the concert Pekka Kuusisto with Manchester Collective on Friday 9 December, for which you had booked tickets, has been cancelled.

Saffron Hall will offer refunds to ticket-holders as follows:

  • We will refund the value of your tickets
  • Refunds will be processed back to the card originally used to pay
  • Refunds will be automatically processed and you do not need to contact Saffron Hall to request a refund
  • We will endeavour to refund all tickets within 30 days


It takes real courage to break out of the box. Once or twice in a generation, music fans embrace an artist who totally redefines what is possible in their field. Pekka Kuusisto is one of these artists. The Finnish superstar violinist is electric in performance, showcasing unparalleled freedom and an infectious disregard for the ‘rules’ of classical music.

Pekka leads the full Manchester Collective string ensemble into an adventurous programme of the familiar and the new. At the heart of it is a new commission by Oliver Leith – the voice of a new generation of British composers.

Described as “deadpan, subversive and quietly anarchic” (BBC Radio 3), Oliver’s music seamlessly crosses the boundary between contemporary classical and electronic worlds.Elsewhere, we’re transported to the flower gardens, little stone paths and imposing beech trees at the beautiful Dumbarton Oaks estate in the USA. This is Pulitzer Prize-winning Caroline Shaw’s Plan & Elevation. Dmitri Shostakovich’s tour-de-force Chamber Symphony stands in stark contrast – a gut-wrenching musical rollercoaster that packs a devastating emotional punch for seasoned concert-goers and first time audiences alike. The show opens with You Know Me From Here by Missy Mazzoli, a firebrand Brooklyn composer described by NPR as “the 21st century’s gatecrasher of new classical music”.

To hear a string orchestra going full pelt is a full-body experience. To hear one led by Kuusisto is something else altogether.

Oliver Leith’s new work has been co-commissioned by the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra and is supported by the British Council.

Performance information

Running time

To be confirmed

Booking information


Under 25s can purchase half price tickets for this show.

Ten for £10

This event is not part of our Ten for £10 scheme.

Programme and performers


  • Missy Mazzoli You know me from here
  • Oliver Leith New Work – World Premiere
  • Caroline Shaw Plan & Elevation
  • Dmitri Shostakovich arr. Rudolf Barshai Chamber Symphony (arrangement of the 8th quartet)


  • Manchester Collective
  • Pekka Kuusisto guest director, violin

Information for your visit

Friday 9 December 2022, 8pm


All timings are approximate and will be updated closer to the show date. Please check the website on the day of the performance for up-to-date information.

Latecomers can usually be admitted at a suitable gap within the performance.

Additional information


For this event, drinks are not allowed in the auditorium.


We are unable to allow any bags into the performance space which are larger than a hand bag or small backpack. Unfortunately our cloakroom will not be in operation.

Booster seats not available

Buggy parking not available

Can't find your e-tickets?

Log in here to download your e-ticket from our website

Exterior of Saffron Hall showing the Saffron Walden County High School and Saffron Hall signs next to each other

Plan Your Visit

Everything you need to know about visiting Saffron Hall including getting here, parking, the shuttle bus and more
Light floods through the windows of the auditorium on to the blue theatre seats


Find out about our accessible seating and how to book either online, via email or over the phone
Saffron Hall car park full of cars


We have over 400 free parking spaces on site for our visitors

Related shows

See all

Britten Sinfonia & The Will Gregory Moog Ensemble

Friday 11 October 2024, 7.30pm
Maths and music, synths and soundtracks - from Bach and Purcell to Herrmann, Vangelis and Goldfrapp's Will Gregory

Sō Percussion & Caroline Shaw

Friday 29 November 2024, 7pm
Pioneering quartet Sō Percussion are joined by Pulitzer-Prize winning composer, violinist, vocalist and producer Caroline Shaw

Christmas at the Musicals

Saturday 7 December 2024, 7.30pm
Celebrate in style and treat yourself to a fabulous feast of musical tunes, performed by leading West End stars