What's On

Sunday 24 April 2022, 4pm

Britten Sinfonia: мир / Peace

Britten Sinfonia: мир / Peace


Marcus Barcham Stevens
Mishka Rushdie Mormen
Matilda Lloyd


Nathan James Dearden
pixelated in quick motion
Alissa Firsova
Dmitri Shostakovich
Concerto for piano, trumpet & strings
Sergei Prokofiev arr. Rudolf Barshai
Visions Fugitives (alternating with solo piano originals)
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Serenade for Strings

Running Time

2 hours

An impassioned and melodious programme, featuring rising stars Mishka Rushdie Momen and Matilda Lloyd.

Shostakovich’s virtuosic Concerto is paired with Prokofiev’s whimsical Visions Fugitives, the original solo piano version alternating with an arrangement with orchestra. Tchaikovsky’s glorious Serenade for Strings and a new work, Stages, by Alissa Firsova complete the programme. Alissa Firsova’s work for trumpet and strings draws inspiration from the poem of the same name by Hermann Hesse.

This concert was initially titled ‘Russian Spring’. In light of current events, the programme has been re-named
мир, Slavic for ‘peace’.

Age Guidance

This event is not recommended for children under 7 years old